A GOOD BLACK FATHER

Dedicated to Mr. Crocodile. 

Despite how the news and movies depict black fathers there are a lot of black men who are good dads. My relationship with my dad has always been amazing, not saying we haven’t had our disagreements. A father and daughter relationship is tricky, especially when the norm in Tanzania is the mother is meant to takes care of the daughters and the father only involvement in the daughter’s life is a disciplinary one. But with four girls and one boy, my dad had no choice but to be involved in our lives.

My dad is a legend. A natural born hustler, he grew up with very little and managed to create a better life for himself and his family. The truth is having a good father-daughter relationship prepares you for the outside world. I’m not only talking about boys but everything else.When your car needs an oil change, when the mechanic is about to cheat you, and when you should demand more in the workplace. The support of a father is needed.

The first introduction to the male species is our fathers. This strange human with facial hair and rough hands, the complete opposite to our mothers who are soft and warm. I know not everyone’s family dynamic is the same but we can’t ignore the importance of having a good father and daughter relationship. When I think of all the male figures that have entered my life, no one is as prominent as my dad. I think about my best friend, and how she lost her dad and how every moment she finds a way of honoring him. It just shows that a ‘good’ dad is un replaceable.

IMG_1801

Fathers play an important role in the journey of becoming a woman. We can’t help but compare the men that enter our lives to our dads, whether you had a ‘good’ dad or not. Can he provide for you like your dad does, is he understanding, and will he love you unconditionally? These are major issues my dad covers, even though sometimes it doesn’t feel that way.  My dad even raised me to become a feminist, always telling me I can get anything if I tired. And that is probably why I fight so hard to make sure I get those opportunities.

So this is a thank you to my dad and everyone else dad’s that makes them feel like mine does.   #HappyBelatedFathersDay

Leave a Reply

